List of the bishops of Westminster

Diocese page | Bishops list | Location list | Jurisdiction list

A list of all the bishops of Westminster (1540–1835) arranged by date of appointment. Unless otherwise stated, the year of appointment is the year of consecration and the end of tenure is the year of death.


  • Fryde, E. B., Greenway, D. E., Porter, S., Roy, I. (1986), Handbook of British Chronology (RHS, Guides and Handbooks, 2, 3rd edn, London: Royal Historical Society).
Name Year appointed Notes on appointment End of tenure Notes on end of tenure
Thirlby, Thomas 1540 1550 resigned