Old foundation cathedrals

Those English and Welsh cathedrals which were ‘secular’ foundations dating from before the Reformation, their chapters not being composed of monks. At the Reformation, they were therefore unaffected by the dissolution of the monasteries, and retained their constitutions. There were nine such cathedrals in England: Chichester, Exeter, Hereford, Lichfield, Lincoln, London, Salisbury, Wells and York. In Wales Bangor, Llandaff, St Asaph, and St David’s were all old foundation.